Halal or Haram?

Source of mono and diglycerides in Dempster’s & Country Harvest breads

ee32d7bc4ef311e3afe6126c8e394760_8

We enjoy consuming Dempster’s and Country Harvest’s breads and the topic of mono and diglycerides came up. Hence, we decided to confirm the source of mono and diglycerides in their bread products.

Here’s what we found on Dempster’s website:

Mono and diglycerides are emulsion stabilizers (salad dressing, for example, is an emulsion of water in oil). Therefore, mono and diglycerides are not derived from any animal source; neither are our breads—they are entirely made from plant ingredients.

Source: Maple Leaf Foods – FAQ

We called the following number: 1800-661-7246 for Country Harvest and learned that their source of mono and diglycerides is also vegetable based.

Click to comment

0 Comments

  1. khaula mazhar

    November 22, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    These days I am going crazy trying to make sure stuff on my grocery list is halal so I was so happy to find your website ( I am a big fan of food). Keep up the good work.

    • HFE

      November 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm

      Glad to know you found the post helpful.

  2. khaula mazhar

    November 22, 2013 at 6:00 pm

    These days I am going crazy trying to make sure stuff on my grocery list is halal so I was so happy to find your website ( I am a big fan of food). Keep up the good work.

    • HFE

      November 23, 2013 at 4:55 pm

      Glad to know you found the post helpful.

  3. BOS

    August 1, 2015 at 10:56 am

    This is the updated link for Dempster’s FAQs: http://www.dempsters.ca/faqs

  4. BOS

    August 1, 2015 at 10:56 am

    This is the updated link for Dempster’s FAQs: http://www.dempsters.ca/faqs

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Most Popular

To Top